The Primrose Hill Curriculum

At Primrose Hill we are committed to providing a holistic curriculum which maximises opportunities for creative, innovative meaningful cross-curricular links and learning experiences. Our existing curriculum has been planned to enable such links to be developed and exploited. We place great value on the development of children as individuals and providing our children with the skills, knowledge and understanding they need to develop into well-rounded, informed individuals.  Our aim is to build on children’s skills and experiences so they gain a rich diet of learning throughout their time at the school. Social, moral and emotional issues are given a high profile in the school. We place emphasis on diversity and tolerance, celebrating our amazing community.    Our aim as a school is to give children the skills and knowledge they need to be confident, independent and curious learners.

Here is a summary of our curriculum, but a ore detailed breakdown of information can be found here


Curriculum Summary


Early Years Foundation Stage

In the EYFS we follow the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum’ document. The children’s learning experiences are planned to enable them to develop and achieve in the early learning areas through play and investigative learning experiences.

All EYFS classes, Tadpoles, Froglets and Ladybirds, follow a 2 year rolling cycle of topics as the basis for learning experiences.


Key Stage 1

This consists of Year 1 and Year 2. From Year 1 we, as all schools, follow the New National Curriculum. This comprises eleven subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Computing, History, Geography, Art and Design, Music, Design and Technology, Physical Education and Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education. We also teach Phonics throughout Key Stage 1 using the Letters & Sounds programme amongst other resources.

In Key Stage 1, we introduced an integrated and creative approach to planning the curriculum, as we understand that young children learn best through experiencing a curriculum which is relevant and meaningful to them.  This is based on good early years practice and in encompassing the National Curriculum requirements. There are whole class English and Maths sessions which continue to include recommendations of the strategies. The children will be involved in directed and independent cross curricular activities related to the week’s learning objectives, throughout the day, either with an adult or independently.


Phonics and the Reading Process

We use a mixture of ‘real’ and ‘scheme’ books and the Camden colour banding system to teach reading.  Guided reading is introduced in Reception becoming a five stage weekly cycle in Y1 – Y6, including elements of reciprocal reading in Upper Key Stage 2.    From Y4 onwards, we have introduced the reading challenge where children work their way through a range of high quality texts which will consolidate the many reading skills needed to achieve well and to be a confident and successful reader.

Whole class Phonics is taught in Nursery, Reception and Key Stage 1 every day (until the children move into a Spelling programme in Y2).  We follow the government recommended programme of Letters and Sounds. This promotes a fun, pacey, multi sensory, rigorous and systematic approach to teaching phonics.

Key Stage 2

This way of teaching evolves in Key Stage 2.  We continue to follow a topic based approach in Key Stage 2, making links between subjects, being more creative with topic choices, following children’s interests or events which are happening locally, nationally and globally; and further developing work on oracy and speaking and listening and incorporating elements of Integrated Learning.

In Key Stage 2, we introduce Reading Challenges to enrich children’s reading range and vocabulary, Maths challenges to accelerate children’s mental recall, as well as having a greater focus on home learning and in celebrating children’s achievements.   The pace and challenge increases at Upper Key Stage 2 with the introduction of Streamed Maths Classes (x3 mixed ability groups of 20 in Y5 and x2 mixed ability and x1 more able group in Y6) which have seen a significant upwards shift in our attainments.




For more detail please see our Curriculum page in the School Information section.